The Hierarchy Of The Angels

Day 3 Berachos 4

The Gemara cryptically teaches us the hierarchy of angels based on the number of flights required by them to reach their intended destination. Michael, in one flight. Gavriel, in two flights. Eliyahu HaNavi, in four flights. The Angel of Death, in 8 flights. 

Why is this important information for us to know on a practical level?

The Chafetz Chaim (Shem Olam 2;11) explains that every angel has his unique mission and they do not do anything for naught. Therefore, they each go at the speed embedded in them. If they would go slower than they will be delayed from fulfilling their mission on time. 

I would add that we all have our missions on this earth, although we are not angels, perhaps we should try to focus on getting the mission done and not get distracted or delayed which prevents us from climbing higher in spirituality.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.